How to Write a Novel in Thirty Days – Nanowrimo 2012

So, who’s doing Nanowrimo this year?  November is under way and I have committed to writing 50,000 words in thirty days.  Who’s with me?

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Nannowrimo, the concept is simple.  You accept the challenge to write a novel in a month. Oh, did I mention the letters stand for National Novel Writing Month?  The website explains all you need to know, www.nanowrimo.org.  I said I was committed, by the end of the month I may be committed.

With the interest in The Lady in the Mist, The Western Werewolf Legend, I decided to write a follow-up book entitled Waking up Dead.  Tyler Loflin and Sonja Brooks will learn how to deal with being werewolves in love as they battle vampires disguised as Yankee soldiers.

You can keep up with my adventure this month as I try to complete my first draft of Waking up Dead.  You’ll have a firsthand look at how I’m progressing and some of the tips and obstacles I encounter along the way.  I’ve started the journey with my first post – check it out!

***

Nanowrimo Update – Setting Sail

November 4, 2012 – Since this is my first year of Nanowrimo, I wanted to document my travels through these unexplored waters.  The trip should be exciting.  Like any seasoned traveler, I planned on being prepared for delays and storms along the way.  So I decided to stockpile a few words in case I found days where the writing weather was just impossible.  Maneuvering through the Nanowrimo waters can be tricky.  Learning how to paddle around was a problem for me in the beginning.  But with a little help from my Nanowrimo “writing buddies” I managed to set sail on schedule.

I’m a panster when it comes to writing a novel, so a shell of an outline is all I stowed in the hull of my boat.  Character development was documented in the first novel , check that off my packing list and we’re casting off with 8,000 words validated on the website.   I’m happy to report the beginning of the novel is underway with an action scene and a rescue fiasco.   My cast finds themselves in hot water and have to come up with a plan on the spot.  A bit of back story inserted along the way will explain some interesting details of Sonja’s birth family as well as her mentor besides proving useful later on in the book.  Check back in next week when I discover what Sonja and Ty will do to save the day.  I’ll keep you posted as the month floats along.  Happy Writing!

4 thoughts on “How to Write a Novel in Thirty Days – Nanowrimo 2012

Add yours

    1. Oh, Virginia – it’s so much fun! Forget the edits, worry not about whether you’ll want to rewrite the whole thing over later – just write. Love the feeling of putting words on paper when the muse isn’t distracted. I do hope you’ll join next year.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Darkness Goes 'Round

Author Dr. Erik Gustafson

The Bloody Book Blogger

#SupportIndieHorror

Anne Michaud

Author of Dark Tendency

Ponderings of a lost daughter

Just another WordPress.com site

Raine Miller Romance

Where history comes unlaced..

Fanged Love and Vampire Confessions

Paranormal Romances by Authors Who Love Vampires & Werewolves

AS Fan Blog

Love Eric Northman of True Blood? So do we. Join Us for some "Skarsgarding!" Our AS Fan Blog is the official blog for Skarsgarding Nation.

M. Louisa Locke

Past and Future Worlds with Humor and Heart

Randi Fang

Blogger. Writer. Vampire.

Victoria Embers

Author of the erotic paranormal romance series, My Vampire Lover.

TMI Source

Your source for Shadowhunters and Cassandra Clare

Peace of Life Chiropractic

Wholistic Health for the Whole Family

billfriday.com

fictionary... 8 megapixel artist... bloody awful poet.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

Paranormal Book Club

Life, Books, Fun

Catherine Wolffe

Where Paranormal and Romance Collide

Red Haircrow Review

Reviews, Interviews & News

Ally Thomas

Author of The Vampire from Hell series.

