Some of you who’ve never experienced NaNoWriMo may be asking yourself “What’s the big deal?  So you sit down an write, big whoop!”  Well, for an author to “sit down and write” can sometimes be a very big deal.  Especially when “life” gets in the way, work gets in the way, or the muse is not cooperating, or the family is to close for comfort and focus, or the sun is shining outside and the muse would rather go out and play.  What?  You thought we all did nothing but write?  I’m terribly sorry to disappoint, but the majority of writers have another job that actually pays the bills.  Writing is something we do because we have to let the voices out.  Sigh, if you write you understand what I’m talking about and if you don’t, may I challenge you to try it sometime.  The experience is very enlightening.

Week 2 of NaNoWriMo started off well.  The muse and I were one with the cosmos and the words flowed.  My characters began their first adventure in this new book, which, by the way, is the second in my Western Werewolf Legend series.  I’ve decided to share the trials of being a werewolf and being a newly turned werewolf in love with my readers.  Have you ever thought about it?  The concept is mind boggling to say the least.

To get back to the tale of week 2, I managed to compile in excess of 14k before the wheels began to wobble on Thursday when all I could manage was a paltry 300 words.  By Friday morning, I wasn’t feeling my best and decided to reconsider being up at 4:30 a.m.  Around 10:30 I resurfaced and decided while I felt better, I didn’t have time to write.  Instead, getting ready to go to work, I trotted out the door, heading out to begin the other half of my work day.  Commitments with family comprised the rest of my waking hours as I babysat my grandson, who is by the way, the most beautiful little boy in the world.  I’m just sayin’  🙂

By Saturday, I derailed myself again with commitments to complete a painting project while the temperatures were right for the paint to dry.  The project took all day and gave me a considerable back ache.  Now is when you’re suppose to nod your head and ponder the futility of the writing project.  I did.

However, along comes Sunday and a renewed vigor to complete some words in my story and so as I have learned over the last several weeks, if you want to get things done, GET OFF OF THE COMPUTER!

Week three update will follow soon,  Needless to say, I have some catching up to do.  Not down and out yet!  Although a pep talk or two couldn’t hurt.  Happy writing everyone, wherever you are!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo week 2, Distractions and Excuses – Just Write!

Add yours

  1. I know you’ll get back in the saddle! I can hardly wait for the second installment. I found the first book to be one I couldn’t put down. Hang in there. I know it’ll come to you.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Darkness Goes 'Round

Author Dr. Erik Gustafson

The Bloody Book Blogger

The Bookshelves of a Psychotic Mind.

Anne Michaud

Author of Dark Tendency

Ponderings of a lost daughter

Just another WordPress.com site

Raine Miller Romance

Where history comes unlaced..

Fanged Love and Vampire Confessions

Paranormal Romances by Authors Who Love Vampires & Werewolves

AS Fan Blog

Love Eric Northman of True Blood? So do we. Join Us for some "Skarsgarding!" Our AS Fan Blog is the official blog for Skarsgarding Nation.

M. Louisa Locke

Author of the Victorian San Francisco Mystery and Paradisi Chronicles Science Fiction Series

Randi Fang

Blogger. Writer. Vampire.

Victoria Embers

Author of the erotic paranormal romance series, My Vampire Lover.

TMI Source

Your source for Shadowhunters and Cassandra Clare

Peace of Life Chiropractic

Wholistic Health for the Whole Family

billfriday.com

fictionary... 8 megapixel artist... bloody awful poet.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

Paranormal Book Club

Life, Books, Fun

Catherine Wolffe

Where Paranormal and Romance Collide

Red Haircrow Review

Reviews, Interviews & Promos

Ally Thomas

Author of The Vampire from Hell series.

