Emily Walker – Featured Author

I’m very excited to have Emily Walker on my blog today. She will be releasing her book, “The Reluctant Succubus” and it’s great she had time to sit down with me and answer a few questions. Here’s our interview.

1. When did you first decide you wanted to write?
I have always enjoyed writing. I liked creating stories in English class. The moment I realized that I liked to write enough to do it professionally was when I had to do a ten page book report for A Clockwork Orange and it ended up being 25 pages.

2. What is your favorite genre to write and why?
I think my favorite genre to write is Horror. I enjoy coming up with ways to shock people. My second favorite is Paranormal Fiction, anything can happen!

3. Please tell us about your upcoming book.
The Reluctant Succubus will be my debut in my real name hopefully with the same publishing company.

4. That’s an interesting sounding title. Tell us about it.

Julie is dead, she does not know why, and she does not know how. Something she did in life has given her the opportunity to return to Earth as a Succubus with her mentor the demon, Asa. She is not a Succubus in the traditional sense, she is simply a gateway to Hell for those that need to go there, there is no sex or seduction involved in her job.

5. Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely imagination?
It is all out of the old noggin! I have written some things that are based on my life, but those may never see the outside of my laptop.

6. How did you come up with the cover?
The cover to this book is based on one scene in the book that is powerful, and telling. The great part is when this scene comes you do not know what it means, and you will not until the end of the book. My friend Khelsey Jackson who is an incredibly talented author created it for me. She did an amazing job, and I cannot wait for the reveal. The above image is a banner I’m using currently.

7. When and where will your new book be available?
I know that I want it to be completed by December. If it goes through my current publisher {crossing my fingers she loves it} then it will be available on Amazon first!

8. Do you have a favorite character you’ve written about so far?
I love all my characters equally. I enjoyed writing for Cassie though in Zombified. That is the release of my alter-ego Lyra Mcken. She is becoming this monster, and she is not handling it that well.

9. Does the character reflect on anyone you know?
No, I think that I put myself in their shoes, and do not really draw from people that I know.

10. If you could meet one character from a novel, who would it be and why?
This is a tough question. I think I would like to meet Mr. Knightley from Pride and Prejudice just to have some crumpets and tea.

11. What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author?
I have not had too many people give me heavy criticism. One thing that bothers me is when someone does not like the name I have chosen for my characters. They are my characters let me name them!

12. Who is your favorite author?
Robert Heinlein is my favorite author; I grew up reading his books.

13. Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?
Write, all the time. Carry around a notebook in case you have an idea, because you do not want to forget it. Read as much as you can, it can do wonders for your writing. Make sure that you write what you know and do not be afraid to be controversial.

14. Spaghetti or Lasagna and why?
Spaghetti always, especially spaghetti with meatballs, but I could eat it for every meal. My boyfriend makes it in a casserole dish and covers it with cheese, it is heaven, I tell you.

15. Anything you’d like to share with your readers and fans?
Thanks for reading this interview, and remember you have to make things happen for yourself. Thanks so much for having me Catherine. I truly enjoyed it.

I’d like to thank Emily for being on my blog today. Please be sure to view her links below. You can contact her at:

Emily’s Website – http://www.selfpublishordie.com
Facebook Fan Page – http://www.facebook.com/emilywalkerfans
Twitter – @authorewalker
Blog – http://www.lyramcken.com

7 thoughts on “Emily Walker – Featured Author

Add yours

    1. Having you visit has been really fun. Thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to share with my followers. Love the story of your upcoming release. Congrats!

  1. Hello, Emily. Great interview. Heinlein was one of the authors I enjoyed tremendously when I was younger, though Harlan Ellison was my fave. I like speghetti sandwiches (cold or hot no matter). I like the novelty of the storyline for your succubus.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Darkness Goes 'Round

Author Dr. Erik Gustafson

The Bloody Book Blogger

The Bookshelves of a Psychotic Mind.

Anne Michaud

Author of Dark Tendency

Ponderings of a lost daughter

Just another WordPress.com site

Raine Miller Romance

Where history comes unlaced..

Fanged Love and Vampire Confessions

Paranormal Romances by Authors Who Love Vampires & Werewolves

AS Fan Blog

Love Eric Northman of True Blood? So do we. Join Us for some "Skarsgarding!" Our AS Fan Blog is the official blog for Skarsgarding Nation.

M. Louisa Locke

Author of the Victorian San Francisco Mystery and Paradisi Chronicles Science Fiction Series

Randi Fang

Blogger. Writer. Vampire.

Victoria Embers

Author of the erotic paranormal romance series, My Vampire Lover.

TMI Source

Your source for Shadowhunters and Cassandra Clare

Peace of Life Chiropractic

Wholistic Health for the Whole Family

billfriday.com

fictionary... 8 megapixel artist... bloody awful poet.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

Paranormal Book Club

Life, Books, Fun

Catherine Wolffe

Where Paranormal and Romance Collide

Red Haircrow Review

Reviews, Interviews & Promos

Ally Thomas

Author of The Vampire from Hell series.

