Confessions by Wendy Ely

Today I have the special pleasure of sitting down with the author of Confessions, Wendy Ely.  Thanks for stopping by, Wendy.

“Thanks for having me, Catherine.  I always love visiting with you and your readers.”

I know you have a lot to tell my readers today.  So let’s get started.

What motivates you to write?

This might sound weird but the need to write. I have to create the stories in my head or I’m not a happy girl.

How did you come up with the title for your novel?

For the Desert Secret books, I wanted all of the titles based on one theme: secrets. The first book in the series, Confessions, seemed appropriate because Chelsea returns to her hometown to confess her secret to Jordan.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing it to life?

The biggest challenge was life getting in the way of writing Confessions. I had a boyfriend totally disappear just as Chelsea did to Jordan. I had already written that part of the book when it had happened to me. I sat in my home and cried for a long time. I didn’t want to write the story anymore but knew I had to keep moving forward. I relived my pain while I revised the scene when Jordan confronts Chelsea about leaving all those years ago.

Who is your most popular character?

My most popular character is Chelsea because people can relate to her. People make bad choices in their life occasionally and not always get a second chance. Chelsea gets her second chance.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Writing the difficult scenes. There are some gut-wrenching situations in the book and I had to feel every emotion along with the characters. It took me on a wild adventure.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There isn’t an intended message in Confessions. I feel that reading is a personal journey and hopefully the reader will get something meaningful to them out of each of my stories.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you so much for reading the books I write and I’d love to hear from you. Feel free to email me any time at authorwendyely@gmail.com.

Can you share a little of your book with us?

Set low to the floor, the bathroom vanity gave her a full view of her body in the mirror. She glanced down at the ink permanently marking her, above the soft dark red curls. Never allowing herself to look straight at the tattoo, she glanced away out of habit but decided this once she could look. After all, they were alone together in a hotel. If there was ever a good time for this, it was now. The fingers of her right hand slid over the ink as she walked closer to the mirror.

When they were sixteen Jordan had promised her his love forever. Instead of a removable, they felt it was more symbolic with something permanent.

The red ink of the heart stood out against her skin like blood on a white silk sheet. The handle of the knife sticking into the heart read “Jordan.” Did he still have his? Or had he visited the artist to have the knife handle colored in? She whirled around and turned on the hot water in the shower.

Confessions is available at Amazonhttp://amzn.com/B00A3FVT84

Thanks again to Wendy Ely for coming by today.  Any questions or comments you have, please feel free to leave for Wendy or myself.  I appreciate all of you who enjoy my blog and look forward to hearing from you.

One thought on “Confessions by Wendy Ely

Add yours

  1. Great article, Catherine! I feel the same way. If I don’t write, I’m a fussy kid. I’ll certainly check out Wendy Ely’s books. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Darkness Goes 'Round

Author Dr. Erik Gustafson

The Bloody Book Blogger

#SupportIndieHorror

Anne Michaud

Author of Dark Tendency

Ponderings of a lost daughter

Just another WordPress.com site

Raine Miller Romance

Where history comes unlaced..

Fanged Love and Vampire Confessions

Paranormal Romances by Authors Who Love Vampires & Werewolves

AS Fan Blog

Love Eric Northman of True Blood? So do we. Join Us for some "Skarsgarding!" Our AS Fan Blog is the official blog for Skarsgarding Nation.

M. Louisa Locke

Past and Future Worlds with Humor and Heart

Randi Fang

Blogger. Writer. Vampire.

Victoria Embers

Author of the erotic paranormal romance series, My Vampire Lover.

TMI Source

Your source for Shadowhunters and Cassandra Clare

Peace of Life Chiropractic

Wholistic Health for the Whole Family

billfriday.com

fictionary... 8 megapixel artist... bloody awful poet.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

Paranormal Book Club

Life, Books, Fun

Catherine Wolffe

Where Paranormal and Romance Collide

Red Haircrow Review

Reviews, Interviews & News

Ally Thomas

Author of The Vampire from Hell series.

