Starting 2013 Off With a Bang

You know how the old saying in writing goes – Enjoy the small milestones?  Well Saturday was filled with small milestones.  The day began for me with a check of Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Amazon – the sites I usually update as part of my Indie Author “Booking” process.  Yes, I have a marketing strategy – I call it “Booking”.  Don’t laugh!  Anyway, I got to Amazon and was checking my ranking in each category when I noticed something new at the bottom of the demographics for The Lady in the Mist, The Western Werewolf Legend.  The caption read #38 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Fiction > Fantasy > Historical .  Immediately I clicked on the link and held my breath.  Sure enough at #38 my book’s cover appeared!  I couldn’t believe my eyes!  I had published The Lady in the Mist back in October, 2012.  The first two chapters of the complete novel were offered free on Amazon.  Apparently, patience paid off with this one, because the book finally made a list.  Now you can visualize me dancing around my living room in a wild happy dance.  I even got a high-five from the hubby!

That was the first thing good thing that occurred.  Next came with an invitation I received from a Facebook friend to pitch to an editor at Samhain Publishing.  Saturday, January 12th rolled around and I submitted my pitch.

Sunday, I opened my email to find a response from my Facebook friend telling me not one but two of my stories had been chosen to pitch to the editor.  Whether the editor likes them or not is still up for grabs.  I was just tickled to death to be selected to share my stories with her.   My two stories were included in thirty out of 59 submissions.  Again, we do the happy dance!

In 2013 my resolution with regard to my writing is to relish the small steps and be thankful.  It’s so easy to brush them aside or make light of these steps when they are actually rungs on the ladder to success.   The definition of the word success, in my opinion, will change as I strive to create and improve  my writing.   I look forward to the journey and the small steps in 2013 – how about you?

Click the image to read a FREE sample of my current series, the Western Werewolf Legend.
Click the image to read a FREE sample of my current series, the Western Werewolf Legend.

Thanks for sharing your small steps in comments following this blog post.  I would love to hear from you!  Here’s a little something free I’d like to share with you as my way of saying “Thanks for dropping by.”  Best wishes to everyone in their 2013 journeys.

4 thoughts on “Starting 2013 Off With a Bang

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Darkness Goes 'Round

Author Dr. Erik Gustafson

The Bloody Book Blogger

#SupportIndieHorror

Anne Michaud

Author of Dark Tendency

Ponderings of a lost daughter

Just another WordPress.com site

Raine Miller Romance

Where history comes unlaced..

Fanged Love and Vampire Confessions

Paranormal Romances by Authors Who Love Vampires & Werewolves

AS Fan Blog

Love Eric Northman of True Blood? So do we. Join Us for some "Skarsgarding!" Our AS Fan Blog is the official blog for Skarsgarding Nation.

M. Louisa Locke

Past and Future Worlds with Humor and Heart

Randi Fang

Blogger. Writer. Vampire.

Victoria Embers

Author of the erotic paranormal romance series, My Vampire Lover.

TMI Source

Your source for Shadowhunters and Cassandra Clare

Peace of Life Chiropractic

Wholistic Health for the Whole Family

billfriday.com

fictionary... 8 megapixel artist... bloody awful poet.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

Paranormal Book Club

Life, Books, Fun

Catherine Wolffe

Where Paranormal and Romance Collide

Red Haircrow Review

Reviews, Interviews & Promos

Ally Thomas

Author of The Vampire from Hell series.

