Let the Flag Forever Fly For the Free and the Brave

If you listen to the media, you think the men and women deployed during the war are coming home from the middle east.  This isn’t the entire truth as the families of Louisiana National Guard are saying good-bye to their sons, daughters, husbands and wives today.  They’re headed to Kuwait.  Their prime objective is to rebuild.  They are trained as infantry, nonetheless. The unit my son is part of is the 844th from West Monroe, Louisiana.  Our community is a small suburban area of Northeast Louisiana with few industries and a lot of pride in who we are and what we believe in.  We love our country and our men and women are proud to serve.

My blog site is usually full of the latest information on writing and my books.  Today, I’ve set aside my usual posts for one that’s very near and dear to my heart.  As I stand today and watch my son leave, knowing I will not see him for a year, my heart is breaking.  The flags fly and folks blow their car horns.  The caravan of trucks pull out and head to their destination as men hang from every opening, yelling and whistling. We all wave and smile through the tears because we’re so proud of their selfless devotion to keeping us safe.  It’s an emotional moment I will never forget.  This is the stuff life is made of and you come to realize what is truly important as you watch this scene play out.  For all over our great country, the same thing happens over and over again.  We are Americans and we are proud to serve.  Let the flag forever fly for the free and the brave.

My oldest son wrote a special salute to his little brother.  I want to share his words with you here.

So today my younger brother is being deployed to Kuwait for what we have been told is 1 year. He leaves behind a loving wife, and two beautiful children (3 and 5+ months). I ask you to pray, if you will, for not only his safety, but for all who’ve made the decision to serve our country in the military to protect our freedoms. I also ask you to pray for the family members left behind to keep moving forward with life. I ask you pray for God to remind them of his presence, their internal strength, and that he brings nothing to our lives that he thinks we cannot handle. May God speak to all of these troops/protectors of our nation, and say to them “I am with you always”. Thank you for this selfless gesture. God Bless America and its troops.

God’s speed to all our troops.  We look to next year when we will hold you in our arms again.

1085111_576420285734947_1581928741_o

 

7 thoughts on “Let the Flag Forever Fly For the Free and the Brave

Add yours

    1. Thank you for sharing this moment with us. My thoughts and prayers will be with all of our men and women who help keep the peace. I remember those days when da hubs was in the Navy. 20yrs ago(on 8-11) da hubs had to go and then 3 days later I had our 1st child. He got to see her for the first time 3 days before CHRISTmas that year (93). As much as I dont like that he had to leave I had to keep repeating “It’s his job. It’s what he wants to do.” Peace and love to you my friend. ❤

    2. Thank you Mary. I appreciate your support. Prayer works miracles. I believe God gives us nothing that we can’t handle. The time will pass quickly and we’ll see him, whole and healthy, in a year.

      1. LaGina, you know what I’m talking about when I say his decision effects us all. We’ll have to dig deep and be strong. He’ll have to focus and remember who is waiting on him at home. We’ll support because that’s ‘our job’. The wives are bonding even as we speak. They all huddled together as their men boarded the bus, each trying to comfort the other. It was a heart wrenching time, but when they return it will be a celebration to cherish. Thank you for commenting. I hold your words close to my heart today.

  1. Sending love and prayers to you and your family. I also send a Thank You from my heart for his service and for his family who will be in my constant prayers.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Darkness Goes 'Round

Author Dr. Erik Gustafson

The Bloody Book Blogger

#SupportIndieHorror

Anne Michaud

Author of Dark Tendency

Ponderings of a lost daughter

Just another WordPress.com site

Raine Miller Romance

Where history comes unlaced..

Fanged Love and Vampire Confessions

Paranormal Romances by Authors Who Love Vampires & Werewolves

AS Fan Blog

Love Eric Northman of True Blood? So do we. Join Us for some "Skarsgarding!" Our AS Fan Blog is the official blog for Skarsgarding Nation.

M. Louisa Locke

Past and Future Worlds with Humor and Heart

Randi Fang

Blogger. Writer. Vampire.

Victoria Embers

Author of the erotic paranormal romance series, My Vampire Lover.

TMI Source

Your source for Shadowhunters and Cassandra Clare

Peace of Life Chiropractic

Wholistic Health for the Whole Family

billfriday.com

fictionary... 8 megapixel artist... bloody awful poet.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

Paranormal Book Club

Life, Books, Fun

Catherine Wolffe

Where Paranormal and Romance Collide

Red Haircrow Review

Reviews, Interviews & Promos

Ally Thomas

Author of The Vampire from Hell series.

