Pushing the Line with Kimberly Kincaid

I am so excited to be hosting author, Kimberly Kincaid today.  Grab a cup of coffee and settle in for a Q&A with this very talented lady.

Kimberly Kincaid writes contemporary romance that splits the difference between sexy and sweet. When she’s not sitting cross-legged in an ancient desk chair known as “The Pleather Bomber”, she can be found practicing obscene amounts of yoga, whipping up anything from enchiladas to éclairs in her kitchen, or curled up with her nose in a book. Kimberly is a 2011 RWA Golden Heart® finalist who lives (and writes!) by the mantra that food is love. Her digital “line” series is all about the hot cops and sexy chefs of Brentsville, New York. She is also thrilled to have collaborated on a Christmas anthology with Donna Kauffman and Kate Angell, titled The Sugar Cookie Sweetheart Swap, to kick off her Pine Mountain foodie series with Kensington books, to be followed by her first full-length print novel, Turn Up the Heat. Kimberly resides in northern Virginia with her wildly patient husband and their three daughters. Visit her any time at www.kimberlykincaid.com or come check her out on Facebook (www.facebook.com/kimberly.kincaid1) and Twitter (@kimberlykincaid).

When I sat down with Kimberly, she was happy to answer a few questions for me.

What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve always loved to write, and when I sat down four years ago to write that first book, it was for pure fun. I didn’t have a clue about plotting or pacing or even how to tag dialogue! But I knew I had stories to tell, so I joined Romance Writers of America and took some online classes, and I was thrilled when it only got more fun as I went. That first book is under my bed gathering dust, but it got me to book #2, which landed my agent. So I’ll always love that inspiration that got me started!

Do you have a specific writing style or approach to writing your books?

I think, first and foremost, that writing should be fun. So I approach all my books like they’re an adventure. I write full-time, so I also take each book very seriously. I usually start with my characters—who they are, what shapes them, what their life circumstances are, and how they’ll connect. Then I do research and toy with the plot. For me, the plot is so much more changeable than the characters! But I plan everything out before I start to write, complete with outlines and storyboards.

How did you come up with the title of your  book?

We already had a theme established with the “line” novellas. I usually come up with a short list, and for Pushing The Line it was no different. I bounced the ideas off my agent, her assistant, and my critique partners. My agent’s assistant is the one who came up with Pushing The Line, and I loved it on the spot.

What book are you reading now?

I love to read, and have many favorites! I just finished Kristen Callihan’s Shadowdance (the latest book in her Darkest London series), and am reading a KGI novel from Maya Banks’s backlist right now. My TBR is toppling, but I love  everything about it!

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Pushing The Line is the fourth line novella, about a cocky firefighter who helps out a friend by taking over a side job at his contracting company. But he gets more than he bargained for when the owner of the candy store needing renovations is a sassy, sexy artist who challenges him at every turn.

Who designed your cover (s)?

My covers are a group effort, just like the titles. In the end, I picked the cover image (which is one of my favorites!), and photographer Robin Gansle did all the formatting.

Portrait of young attractive happy amorous couple in bedroom

Free-spirited artist Harper McGee is happy to go wherever the wind takes her…until her flight pattern sends her back to Brentsville, New York for her beloved grandmother funeral. Harper’s grief turns to shock, however, when she discovers her grandmother has named her sole proprietor of her candy shop, Luscious. But she has no intention of being anchored to one place, and anyway, she doesn’t know the first thing about running a kitchen or a business. Selling Luscious is the only viable option— until the shop catches fire due to old wiring. Fixing the damage requires major work, and if Harper wants to put it on the market, she needs major help.

Thrill-seeking firefighter Aaron Fisher has never walked away from a challenge or a friend. So when a fellow firefighter is hurt on a call and can’t complete a side job for his contracting company, Aaron’s quick to jump in. He’s done plenty of fix ‘er ups for his buddy in the past, and despite his silver spoon upbringing and his no-holds-barred attitude, swinging a hammer suits Aaron just fine. That is, until he discovers the client is the same impetuous woman he forcibly dragged from the flames of Brentsville’s local candy shop.

The more time Harper and Aaron spend at Luscious, the hotter their attraction burns, daring them both to shed their tough outer layers to reveal the tender desires beneath. But when a buyer makes Harper the offer of a lifetime, she must choose between roots and wings. Can two people who live in the moment learn to see past the moment, or will Aaron and Harper always live their lives pushing the line.

Thank you, Kimberly for dropping by today to visit with us.  It’s been a pleasure having you.

***

Don’t miss the release party on January 10th.  Click on the book cover above for a link to the party!  See you there!

3 thoughts on “Pushing the Line with Kimberly Kincaid

Add yours

  1. I “discovered” Kimberly during one of the weekly Facebook “Man Wars,” and thought she was hysterical. Once I checked her books out, she became one of my “must buy/must pre-order” authors. If you haven’t already read her books, please check them out! Smexy fun!

  2. Aw, thank you Michelle! We do have tons of fun every Friday (I accept friend requests from readers– feel free to ask!) So glad everyone’s getting excited for Pushing The Line 🙂

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Darkness Goes 'Round

Author Dr. Erik Gustafson

The Bloody Book Blogger

#SupportIndieHorror

Anne Michaud

Author of Dark Tendency

Ponderings of a lost daughter

Just another WordPress.com site

Raine Miller Romance

Where history comes unlaced..

Fanged Love and Vampire Confessions

Paranormal Romances by Authors Who Love Vampires & Werewolves

AS Fan Blog

Love Eric Northman of True Blood? So do we. Join Us for some "Skarsgarding!" Our AS Fan Blog is the official blog for Skarsgarding Nation.

M. Louisa Locke

Past and Future Worlds with Humor and Heart

Randi Fang

Blogger. Writer. Vampire.

Victoria Embers

Author of the erotic paranormal romance series, My Vampire Lover.

TMI Source

Your source for Shadowhunters and Cassandra Clare

Peace of Life Chiropractic

Wholistic Health for the Whole Family

billfriday.com

fictionary... 8 megapixel artist... bloody awful poet.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

Paranormal Book Club

Life, Books, Fun

Catherine Wolffe

Where Paranormal and Romance Collide

Red Haircrow Review

Reviews, Interviews & News

Ally Thomas

Author of The Vampire from Hell series.

