Happy New Year! The Last Tuesday Teaser of 2016

rnc_bhej2581a-300.jpg

I’m getting a head start on this weekend’s celebration while there’s time.  Thank you for following my blog and your support throughout 2016.  I’m excited about 2017.  Aren’t you?

Perhaps the new year will bring happiness and satisfaction in your life.  This is my New Year’s wish for everyone.

My celebration begins with a price reduction for Beyond the Veil, Book 1 of Shadow Company.  Keep an eye out at Smashwords.com and Amazon.com for the switch during the end and beginning of 2016-2017.

Now, for that Tuesday Teaser.

Testy is the word of the day.  Have you ever had one of those encounters that curled your toes but when things settled again, the vibe went haywire?  Aubrie and Logan finally have a real date under the stars and sparks fly.  The next morning doesn’t find them on the same page, though. Here’s an excerpt for your pleasure.

beyond-the-veil-1

Beyond the Veil, Book 1 of Shadow Company

“Sure.”  Balancing the pan in one hand, Logan poured coffee with the other.  “Here go.”

“You sure are cheery this morning.”  She glanced at him with the last of her observation fresh out of her mouth.  “I mean, where do you get such energy?  Me, I’m not a morning person.”  Probably best to dive into the coffee in her hand, she mused.

“It’s a gorgeous day.  I’m feeling better.  You worked some kind of miracle on me last night.  Besides, I don’t usually have a date for breakfast.”  He cut her a cautious glance.

“I know, drop ‘em off and leave.  Right?”  The laugh came out brittle.  Okay, testy woman.  Drill it back a notch her brain shouted.  Aubrie shoved at her hair.  “Look, I’m gonna apologize to get it out of the way.  I guess it was the high altitude, but I don’t usually sleep with a guy on the first date.  That was a date, right?”  With brows furrowed, she glanced at him again.  This time, irritation surfaced briefly.

The lines around his mouth hardened.

“Now, don’t get me wrong.  I enjoyed myself.  I’m off kilter here is all.”  The stiff grin probably spoke volumes.  Doing more damage than good, Aubrie.  Stop while you’re ahead, her mind growled.

“Can’t say I blame you.  After all, a SEAL jumps in without asking.  Leaves ‘em staring at the stars while he snores.  Things may have gotten out of hand.  It’s my fault.”  He stabbed at the eggs sending some flying out of the pan into the dirt.  “Oh and by the way.  Since we’re keeping score, this was our second date.”

“Now, wait a minute.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t usually come on to a guy like I did last night, but I thought we had a connection, Latimar.  You encouraged me, but I jumped you first.  I want to be clear on that point.”  She stood before stalked off to the bushes.  “And furthermore, I fell fast asleep.  I don’t remember anything about staring at the stars.”

“No, that was me,” he mumbled.

“What?”  Aubrie came back, dusting her hands on her dress.

“I said that was me staring at the stars.  Can’t quite figure out how you managed to seduce me.  I got to give it to you.  You were something.  Isn’t this heaven?”  Sarcasm seeped through his question.

###

Thanks for dropping by,

Catherine Wolffe

The content of this blog is copyright protected.

Beyond the Veil is available at all major outlets including these:

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/690574

catherine-wolffe1-1

 

 

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year! The Last Tuesday Teaser of 2016

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Darkness Goes 'Round

Author Dr. Erik Gustafson

The Bloody Book Blogger

#SupportIndieHorror

Anne Michaud

Author of Dark Tendency

Ponderings of a lost daughter

Just another WordPress.com site

Raine Miller Romance

Where history comes unlaced..

Fanged Love and Vampire Confessions

Paranormal Romances by Authors Who Love Vampires & Werewolves

AS Fan Blog

Love Eric Northman of True Blood? So do we. Join Us for some "Skarsgarding!" Our AS Fan Blog is the official blog for Skarsgarding Nation.

M. Louisa Locke

Past and Future Worlds with Humor and Heart

Randi Fang

Blogger. Writer. Vampire.

Victoria Embers

Author of the erotic paranormal romance series, My Vampire Lover.

TMI Source

Your source for Shadowhunters and Cassandra Clare

Peace of Life Chiropractic

Wholistic Health for the Whole Family

billfriday.com

fictionary... 8 megapixel artist... bloody awful poet.

BOOK GRAPHICS

A busy author's best friend

Paranormal Book Club

Life, Books, Fun

Catherine Wolffe

Where Paranormal and Romance Collide

Red Haircrow Review

Reviews, Interviews & News

Ally Thomas

Author of The Vampire from Hell series.

